Happy New Year!

liberty-socks-001resize.jpgI don’t know how you spent your new year but it was wild and crazy here at Chez Plum.  Hubby spent the evening on the computer doing . . .well . . . whatever it is he does while I finished up my Liberty Socks.  Finally a pair of socks, that fit, for me and only me!

Here are the finished socks.  They are done toe-up and I used a simple uneven rib pattern.  It really made the socks fit great but a 2 row repeat is reeeeeaalllllyy boring once you hit the cuff.   Anyway, the socks get their name from the yarn.  I used Lorna’s Laces Sheppherd Sock in the Liberty colorway.  The yarn was great and fun to work with.

 toe of sock        Half decent pic of the short row heel

I don’t know what I’m doing wrong, but trying to put up full size shots is not working so click on the thumbnails for a better view.

Socktopia started today and I have some lovely blue yarn I intend to use for a pattern a friend talked me into doing but I couldn’t start on it today.  The husband of my mom’s cousin died Friday and instead of working on socks for me I started working on a prayer shawl for her.  I’m not particularly religious but I know her faith is important to her so I hope that the shawl will give her some comfort.  I had plenty of Homespun around but not enough of one color so it’s going to be striped.  I hope it ends up looking tasteful and planned and not just thrown together.

  

Explore posts in the same categories: first, knitting, socks

Leave a Reply

